.

Brand New Books Everyone's Talking About

Here are recommendation from Strongsville librarians

 

Book reviews by Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein and Heather Timko, 
Adult Services Division, 
Strongsville Branch Library:

Shh…Can you keep a secret? These three new books are sure to please readers! 

We bring to you three new novels that center around secrets. We hope you enjoy them. 

Happy reading!

The Age of Desire: a Novel By Jennie Fields, August 2012, 352 pages. 

They say behind every great man is a woman. Behind Edith Wharton, there was Anna Bahlmann — her governess turned literary secretary, and her mothering, nurturing friend. When at the age of 45, Edith falls passionately in love with a dashing younger journalist, Morton Fullerton, and is at last opened to the world of the sensual, it threatens everything certain in her life but especially her abiding friendship with Anna. As Edith’s marriage crumbles and Anna’s disapproval threatens to shatter their lifelong bond, the women must face the fragility at the heart of all friendships. Fans of The Paris Wife will enjoy a sparkling glimpse into the life of Edith Wharton and the scandalous love affair that threatened her closest friendship.

City of Women By David R. Gillham, August 2012, 390 pages.

In this haunting debut novel set in 1943, Sigrid is an unassuming stenographer stuck in a loveless marriage and living in Berlin with her sour mother-in-law. But Sigrid has a secret Jewish lover, and if that were not risky enough, Sigrid becomes entangled with a neighbor who is helping to shelter Jews. As the war progresses, she’s drawn deeper into a world where she doesn’t know who to trust.  This riveting historical novel will appeal to fans of Alan Furst and Tatiana de Rosnay.

The Painted Bridge: a Novel By Wendy Wallace, July 2012, 291 pages.

Debut novelist Wallace spins an emotionally suspenseful Victorian tale about inmates of Lake House, a private asylum for 'genteel women of a delicate nature' where all is not quite as it seems. Set in the winter of 1859, newlywed Anna Palmer is tricked by her husband into leaving home and finds herself incarcerated against her will, declared hysterical. The longer she remains at Lake House, the more she doubts she will ever get out.  Anne Perry fans should enjoy this great new read.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something