.

Warm Up with a Good Book

The Strongsville Library suggests three gripping novels, perfect for a chilly afternoon

Is this cold weather keeping you cooped up at home? Why not stop in to the to check out one of these and many more new books we have to offer. Happy reading!

 

The Bird Sisters: a Novel By Rebecca Rasmussen, November 2011, 290 pages.

When a bird flies into a window in Spring Green, WI, sisters Milly and Twiss get a visit. Twiss listens to the birds' heartbeats, assessing what she can fix and what she can't, while Milly listens to the heartaches of the people who've brought them. These spinster sisters have spent their lives nursing people and birds back to health. Rebecca Rasmussen's masterfully written debut novel is full of hope and beauty, heartbreak and sacrifice, love and the power of sisterhood, and offers wonderful surprises at every turn. Fans of the book Saving CeeCee Honeycut will enjoy this new novel.

How it All Began By Penelope Lively, January 2012, 276 pages.  

The mugging of a retired schoolteacher by a petty thief on a London street has unexpected repercussions for her friends and neighbors when it inadvertently reveals an illicit love affair, leads to a too-good-to-be-true business partnership and helps a newly fluent immigrant to reinvent his life. Through a richly conceived and colorful cast of characters, the author explores the powerful role of chance in people's lives and deftly illustrates how our paths can be altered irrevocably by someone we will never even meet. This is an engaging, contemporary tale by a masterful storyteller in the author of Penelope Lively.

The Lost Angel: a Novel By Javier Sierra, October 2011, 377 pages.

Fans of Dan Brown and Raymond Khoury will enjoy this apocalyptic thriller about a kidnapped scientist who possesses special stones that are supposed to allow communication with God. His kidnappers are members of a cult that believe they are descended from angels and plan to use the stones to set up their explosive and fiery exit from this world from the summit of Mt. Ararat.  

Reviews are brought to you each week by librarians Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein and Heather Timko, Adult Services Division.

 

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something