.

Books for the History Lovers!

Librarians Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, and Heather Timko bring to you three great new books to read each week. Enjoy!

Our book choices this week are novels featuring characters with historical significance. If you enjoy a good historical story, you will want to check-out these books at your local library branch. Happy Reading!

1356: Go with God, But Fight Like the Devil
By Bernard Cornwall, January 2013, 464 pages. 

No one writes battles like Bernard Cornwell, the author of the Sharpe series. In his latest novel, Cornwell uses character, Thomas of Hookton from his Grail Quest series to build up to and depict the Battle of Poitiers, a major battle of the Hundred Years War between France and England. Fans of Michael and Jeff Shaara and George R.R. Martin should give this book a try.

Jane: the Woman Who Loved Tarzan
By Robin Maxwell, October 2012, 320 pages.

To celebrate the centennial publication of Tarzan, a fresh take on Jane is in order. Maxwell, author of many Tudor period historical novels, introduces a strong-minded and independent Jane, more comfortable in a lab coat than a corset and gown, relate her story to author Edgar Rice Burroughs. Tarzan fans and fans of strong female characters should swing over to the library to swoop up this romantic adventure.

Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker
By Jennifer Chiaverini, January 2013, 352 pages.

Quiltmaker and novelist Jennifer Chiaverini brings to life the friendship between First Lady Mary Todd Lincoln and her seamstress and personal dresser, Elizabeth Hobbs Keckley. Keckley, a former slave, served as a witness to the Lincoln presidency and afterward wrote a book about her time in the White House. A quilt Mrs. Keckley made in honor of Mary Todd Lincoln connects this historical novel with the rest of Chiaverini’s novels. Quilters and lovers of historical fiction as well as Civil War buffs will find much to enjoy in this novel.

Reviews brought to you each week by Librarians – Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, & Heather Timko
Adult Services Division
Strongsville Branch Library

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »