.

Check Out These Romantic Reads!

Librarians Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, and Heather Timko bring to you three great new books to read each week. Enjoy!

February is the month of love, and romance. Why not pick up a great new romantic read for your reading enjoyment? Happy Reading!

The Best Man
By Kristan Higgins, February 2013, 432 pages. 

After being left at the altar, Faith Holland left her hometown. Now years later, she is returning to her family’s NY vineyard, the Blue Heron, to face her past. Like the local police chief, Levi Cooper with deep green eyes. If Faith could only forget that he’s the one that helped ruin her wedding. This contemporary romantic comedy will be appreciated by fans of Jennifer Crusie or Janet Evanovich.

Girls’ Guide to Love and Supper Clubs
By Dana Bate, February 2013, 400 pages.

Hannah Sugarman has everything – a great job, boyfriend, and apartment. However she is not happy with her work and soon finds her relationship with her boyfriend going sour. She leaves it all behind to start an underground supper club in her new townhouse. This is a charming romantic story about a girl looking for love and fulfilling her dreams. If you are looking for a light fun read for the Valentine’s holiday, this debut novel is for you.

The Love Song of Johnny Valentine
By Teddy Wayne, February 2013, 256 pages.

This is a very current novel for the 21st century that examines America’s obsession with fame. Jonny Valentine is an eleven year old pop star with a lot of fans but no one knows the real Jonny. He has been packaged into the idol that he is by his record label and hard partying manager mom. The story is told from his point of view and is full of humor and the bitter truth about fame in our current culture. Fans of current pop culture will certainly enjoy the opportunity to see what life is like from the vantage point of a young star.

Vanity Fare: A Novel of Lattes, Literature and Love
By Megan Caldwell, December 2012, 416 pages.

When her husband dumps her for a younger woman, Molly secures a job copywriting for a new bakery in order to pay her Brooklyn rent and keep her six-year-old son in Pokemon and Legos. But then there’s the sexy British pastry chef who is interested in Molly, and his secretive, cold fish partner who interests Molly. This delicious and witty chick lit romance (recipes included) should appeal to fans of Diane Mott Davidson and Jennifer Cruisie. 

Reviews brought to you each week by Librarians – Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, & Heather Timko
Adult Services Division
Strongsville Branch Library

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »