.

Great Character Fiction to Check-Out!

Librarians Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, and Heather Timko bring to you three great new books to read each week. Enjoy!

This week’s book selections are unique in that they share stories from interesting people and are told in a distinctive way. We hope you will stop by your local Library to check-out these and many more new books. Happy Reading!

The Confidant
By Helen Gremillon, October 2012, 245 pages. 

The setting is Paris, 1975. Camille's mother has recently passed away and as she is going through all the letters of condolence she received. She then comes across a mysterious handwritten note she never would have expected from someone who shares some shocking information about her family’s history. The story is told through letters written to Camille from this new mysterious stranger that has become a part of her life. Fans of The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society will definitely want to check out this book.

Eight Girls Taking Pictures: a Novel
By Whitney Otto, November 2012, 342 pages.

This is a moving tale inspired by the lives of famous 20th century women photographers and the obstacles they had to overcome in order to fulfill their dreams. You do not have to like photography or art history to appreciate this book. Fans of historical fiction and works about feminism will like this book. Similar authors that come to mind are Barbara Kingsolver and Margaret Atwood.

The Heat of the Sun: a Novel
By David Rain, November 2012, 288 pages.

Here is another story told from an interesting perspective. Instead of chapters the book is written as Acts, much like an opera. The main protagonist is the son of Lieutenant Benjamin Pinkerton and the geisha Madame Butterfly. Trouble is raised in America by the Lieutenant, now senator and his American wife. Over the course of the 20th century, Trouble finds himself at the center of some major events in US history. Fans of the movie Forrest Gump will certainly find some similarities in Trouble and Forrest and enjoy this book.

Reviews brought to you each week by Librarians – Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, & Heather Timko
Adult Services Division
Strongsville Branch Library

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something