.

New Women's Fiction for Your Reading Enjoyment!

Librarians Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, and Heather Timko bring to you three great new books to read each week. Enjoy!

Fans of contemporary women’s fiction will surely be pleased by this week’s book selections. If you are looking for a great new novel, than you will need to come to your local Library Branch soon to pick these up. Happy Reading!

Here I Go Again: a Novel
By Jen Lancaster, February 2013 320 pages.

Snarky memoir queen Lancaster has written her second novel. Lissy Ryder was a typical "mean girl" cheerleader back in the good old 1980’s, but right before her twentieth high school reunion, her life falls apart. She loses her high paying job, gets dumped by her former quarterback husband, and has to move back home. When she gets an opportunity for a "do-over", can she fix what once went wrong? Fans of Beth Harbison and Jennifer Crusie will enjoy this light jaunt down memory lane. 

The List: a Novel
Karin Tanabe, February 2013, 384 pages.

Twenty-eight year old Adrienne gives up her glamorous job at Town and Country and takes a pay cut to work for a political media outlet called The Capitolist (known by most as The List.) Adrienne has to move back home and gives up many material things, but feels this will be a great move for her career. Things get interesting when she finds out about of an affair between a high powered senator and one of her colleagues. The author herself is a Washington insider and shares behind the scenes information in this interesting debut novel.

A Week in Winter
By Maeve Binchy, February 2013, 320 pages.

This posthumously published book is a cozy story about a newly opened hotel in Ireland in a stone house on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The stories center on the proprietress and her guests each with secrets and agendas who have come together for the winter holidays. Some characters from Binchy’s earlier books make an appearance in this last novel by the recently deceased author. This easy charming read is recommended for all of Binchy’s fans and folks who have also enjoyed Rosamunde Pilcher.

Reviews brought to you each week by Librarians – Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, & Heather Timko
Adult Services Division
Strongsville Branch Library

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something