.

Try These New Books on for Size!

Librarians Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, and Heather Timko bring to you three great new books to read each week. Enjoy!

It’s a new month, and a new week of three great new books for you to try on for size. We hope you will stop in to your local Strongsville Library branch today to pick these up. Happy Reading!

Ghostman
By Roger Hobbs, February 2013, 336 pages.
This is a debut thriller from the author Roger Hobbs. A casino robbery in Atlantic City goes terribly wrong and the man that orchestrated the heist has to call in a favor from a man simply known as "Jack". Jack is a criminal’s criminal and nearly impossible to get in touch with, but within hours he is flying from Seattle to New Jersey. This new novel will certainly put Hobbs on the map as a suspenseful, crime writer along the lines of authors Hoben, Rosenfelt and Crais.

The Storyteller
By Jodi Picoult, February 2013, 480 pages. 
Sage Singer works as a baker all night to avoid stares at her scarred face. She befriends a well-respected elderly man in her grief group who confesses his darkest secret and then asks her for a terrible favor. The Holocaust and atonement are themes in this latest by Picoult. Fans of Sarah’s Key and Picoult’s other books will want to pick this up.

Schroder: a Novel
By Amity Gaige, February 2013, 288 pages.
When he was a young boy, Erik Schroder was a first generation East German immigrant and changed his name to Erik Kennedy. Now as an adult, he is in a correctional facility at the height of a custody battle with his estranged wife. Erik thinks back on his life and relationship with Laura and that decision so many years ago to change his name. If you like intriguing novels that take on the issue of identity, then this book is sure to please.

Reviews brought to you each week by Librarians – Jennifer Niederhausen, Dona Stein, & Heather Timko
Adult Services Division
Strongsville Branch Library

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something